Spreading More Amiga Love: cTrix @ Blip Festival 2011

14 06 2011
Keep your eyes peeled for more of the talented cTrix when Viva Amiga is released.  Check out this preview and then scroll down more to get info his work & hear some of his killer chip jamz – if you like what you see, there are links to download his tunes at the bottom of this post.  Keep on spreading the Amiga love!

cTrix - Blip Festival 2011

cTrix began writing chipmusic on a Commodore 64. In 1991 he shifted to the Amiga with it’s mind-boggling 4 channels of digital 8bit sound and 512k ram. Armed with 10 seconds of sample memory he explored a world of house music, power funk and ’90s rave through collecting disks of samples from computer swap meets and bulletin boards. After a 10 year break from the Amiga, cTrix went back to see what he could produce in his “older age” and with a 20 year backlog of tracks, hasn’t looked back since.  He has since picked up a Gameboy and Atari 2600 to add to his lively performances.  Expect phat ‘n’ funky beats, early ’90s vocal house, glitched out jungle drum’n’bass and synth pop all vs. chip mayhem.

Currently on cTrix’ auditory menu:

RELEASED:  May 20th, 2011
GENRE:  Chip Music

“It was the second night of Blip, I was the last act on, and already so many amazing sets had gone down. That’s the definition of being nervous right there!!  Especially when more than half the tunes you have planned are new and haven’t been played in front of an audience.  But from the outset the crowd were amazing and from random crowd surfers landing on the stage to Luke (of Anamanaguchi) demanding an encore – it was one big party the whole time.  Most of this set is played from an Amiga 1200 booted up in Amiga 500 mode and all written for a 512kb unexpanded machine.  The third and forth tunes are played from an Atari 2600 strapped onto a guitar-style neck and run though a Bass EQ and old Boss Delay stomp box affectionately known as the gAtari!  The set ended when the crowd stormed the stage during the last song and subsequently stomped on the master XLR cables dislodging the earth cable and sending the stage into a buzzing chaos.  It couldn’t have been a more fun and spontaneous show!  Much love to the Blip orgs and everyone who came that night.  And for those that missed it, I hope you enjoy the energy and craziness that this recording managed to capture!”


Track listing:

1 – Come Along (Sample taken from The Bran Flakes “Fifty-four-fifty”. Check them out)
2 – Kaizoku (Remix of a JDDJ3J tune)
3 – gAtari – Triple Pump (Atari 2600)
4 – gAtari –Booty Plus Plus (Atari 2600)
5 – Future Blue (lead instrument leached from an old Purple Motion MOD!)
6 – Untitled
7 – Horses (Sample taken from Aussie 90’s hit Horses by Daroll Braithwait)
8 – In Sync Mood (Sample taken from Duke Ellington’s – In the Mood)
9 – Ultim8 (My 1995 reworking of a MaDsTyLe MOD from 1991)

36 Mins Total Run Time”




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: